SHORTS!

I started writing short stories many years ago after attending Creative Writing Classes.   The first ones were for children – mine in fact – I loved the looks on their little faces as I embellished each story so much that they bore little resemblance to the original.   The experts say that reading children the same story over and over again, is one of the most important things that a parent can do to help them to learn to read.

I am now the proud possessor of at least a dozen short stories written over the last fifteen years or so.   I was looking through them a couple of weeks ago.   What was I going to do with them?   So in a flash of inspiration, I decided to put them into a book.   The title (I think) will be…’ALL FOR LOVE…’

As I read them, and updated them, and in the process changing names and places and generally making sure that they were as good as I could make them, I soon realised that perhaps some of my readers would think that I was obsessed with the word ‘LOVE’.   Well, love is supposed to make the world go round and I believe that if we all showed a little more love to everyone no matter who they are and where they come from, the world would be a much happier place.   But, alas, thinking and wishing doesn’t make it so.

My shorts are now more or less finished and are being proof-read:  I suppose I am lucky in having a daughter who is a qualified copy editor/proof reader.  My next task is to have a ‘go’ at the huge task of formatting them and finding a suitable cover for such diverse (even with the subject of Love) titles as “All for the Love of Anna”, “Portrait of a Dream”, “Brush Strokes” and “Gone Fishing” (and no,  this story has nothing to do with Bing Crosby!)

I suppose I could always paint a picture of ‘a pair of shorts’ myself, but no, I think I will have to find something else, but I’ll get there…

About phylburton

I live in south-west Surrey in England. I am an author of three published books, and I have another book of short stories due for publication in March 2018. I love singing, water-colour painting, walking, Cornwall and of course writing and reading good books. All three of my books - A PASSING STORM, PAPER DREAMS and WHEN THE ICE MELTS, were published by Matador (Troubador Publishing) Ltd. WHEN THE ICE MELTS was published in August 2016. My next book - THE POWER OF LOVE - is due to be published by Bridge House Publishing in March 2018. For more details about me and my writing, please go to my website: www.phyllisburton.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SHORTS!

  1. Jane Risdon says:

    Oh lucky you with your own in-built copy editor/proof reader, what I wouldn’t give to find someone. Still, I am not near publication yet and when I publish on-line the owners of the pages usually check for me. I hope all is well and the writing is coming on as you want and that the books are now doing great as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

