Phyllis Burton

ImageVery Inspiring Blogger Award  by Phyllis Burton

I would like to thank Jane Risdon for nominating me for this award.   Although I haven’t written many blogs, the ones I have written have been great fun and it is a wonderful way to get to know other people who have a similar love for reading and writing.   Jane is an inspiration to me and to many other writers.   Her sense of humour is intoxicating and her writing is a joy to read.  Find her on:    http://janerisdon.wordpress.com/2013/02/01/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

Now, I have to tell you 7 things about myself and then nominate other bloggers/authors to do the same.   All they need to do is to link back to me, choose their nominees and answer 7 things about themselves and post links to their nominees…simples!  (Jane Risdon’s quote not mine!).

MY   LIFE  IN  SEVEN  FACTS

When I look back I realise that yes, I’ve done quite a lot with my life.  I’ve travelled extensively over the years, and admit to being terrified of flying and going to the top of large buildings like the twin towers in New York:  now sadly no longer there.    My daughter told me how proud she felt after I’d given a talk to a group of local business-women recently about my experience with writing, marketing and publishing.

I was born the youngest of three daughters in Beckenham in the county of Kent, England.   My father lived in a predominantly female household, poor man!   After I‘d left college, I joined the Civil Service in London to become a P.A. in the Ministry of Defence.   I later met and married Jim and we eventually moved to Surrey, and during this time we had three children:  a girl and two boys.   We also love golden retrievers – the latest, our dog, Bailey is now 14, but still enjoys life.

 I started up a Play Group for 3-5 year olds, and although initially we had opposition from the Village Hall committee, it was successful and good fun.  I’m proud to say, it is still in existence.

I joined a dramatic society as one of the founder members.  We earned the wonderful reputation for putting on excellent plays and Pantomimes.  I performed in plays large and small over the years and also played the role of in Cinderella in Cinderella, Little Bo Beep in Little Red Riding Hood and The Vegetable Fairy  in Jack and The Beanstalk, where I carried a LEEK instead of a wand!    Later, as a trained soprano, I took on some minor solo roles with a local Opera company.   Following this, I auditioned with a larger Opera company and secured solo parts such as Gianetta, (one of the Queens in Gilbert & Sullivan’s, The Gondoliers) and the part of Diana in Orpheus in the Underworld by Offenbach, and always performing in front of about 1,200 people.

I used to write stories for my children before decided to take writing more seriously.   I attended Creative Writing Courses and joined a local Writers’ Circle.   During this time I wrote short stories, one of which (FOOTSTEPS IN THE SNOW) was broadcast on the radio and three one-act plays, two of which were performed by my dramatic society and produced by me.    I also produced and co-directed  Alan Ayckbourn’s play BEDROOM FARCE:  a hilarious and fun occasion.

In the early 2000s, I started writing a full-length novel  – A PASSING STORM and as I was an enthusiastic water-colour painter, the publisher agreed to use one of my paintings for the cover.   The book was published in 2006.  After the company was taken over and I withdrew the title,  Matador, the publisher of my second book, PAPER DREAMS, agreed to republish it.   A PASSING STORM was relaunched a few days ago – on the 1st February.  I am part of the way into writing my third novel (SWITCHING OFF).   I am still singing, but my enthusiasm for choral singing has now taken over.   I’ve belonged to the Haslemere Music Society for many years:  the standard is considered to be high – with a full orchestra and choir.   On 2nd March we are performing Mendelsohn’s ‘Elijah’.

 My daughter is an excellent Copy-Editor, my elder son has just published his second sci-fi book – ALPHA ONE – The Kronan, and my younger son is doing well in sales and marketing for a pharmaceutical company.  Between them, they have given us seven gorgeous grandchildren.   Life is indeed fulfilling and exciting:  what more could I ask for?

These facts about me, some of which I hope you feel will be of interest to you, are just a small part of my life:  there have been many wonderful moments, but too numerous to mention.

My nominations are:

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.buxton.39?fref=ts    Jackie Buxton,  is a writer, blogger and a friend on Facebook for a long time.

https://www.facebook.com/casaMH?fref=ts  Hannah and her family have had an unhappy time recently, but she is ever optimistic about her life and her writing.  See Hannah Warren Books.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Tom-Winton/206609429356346?fref=ts   My good friend from across the pond, Tom is an enthusiast about his own and everyone else’s books.  He is the author of four wonderful books – Beyond Nostalgia, The Last American Martyr, Four Days with Hemingway’s Ghost and his latest…Within a Man’s Heart.

https://www.facebook.com/faith.mortimer?fref=ts    Faith lives in Cyprus, is a wonderful author and facebook friend.   Her books include:  the Seeds of Time, The Surgeon’s Blade, The Assassin’s Village – See:  http:www.faithmortimerauthor.com

https://www.facebook.com/debbie.bennett4?fref=ts   Debbie is a blogger and her published books include:  Paying the Piper and Hamlin’s Child.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/209490679066398/?fref=ts  Neal James is a prolific author:  his books include Threads of Deceit, Full Marks and Two Little Dicky Birds.   His Guest Author Page on his website:  nealjames.webs,com has been running since 2010.

About phylburton

I live in south-west Surrey in England. I am an author of two published books. I love singing, water-colour painting, walking, Cornwall and of course writing and reading good books. My second book - PAPER DREAMS - was published by Matador (Troubador Publishing) Ltd. on 1st December 2011. I recently changed publishers for my book A PASSING STORM and it was RELAUNCHED and REPUBLISHED by Matador (imprint of Troubador Publishing Ltd) Leicester, England on 1st February. See my website: www.phyllisburton.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Phyllis Burton

  1. Pingback: Phyllis Burton | burtonblogs

  2. Tom Winton says:

    Excellent post, Phyllis! So good to learn more about my dear friend. And thanks so much for nominating me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award!

  3. Hi Phyllis, thanks so much for thinking of me, I’m truly touched! However, I’m afraid someone just pipped you to the post and as I’ve already posted in response, rather than inflict another seven facts about me on the nation, I’d better decline the invitation to post on this – but hope you know that I am nonetheless, very grateful, thank you!

    Your facts are great! I’m from a bit of a girl-centric family, too. I have three sisters, my husband has two sisters and we have two daughters so I do feel a bit sorry for him sometimes. Luckily, with all the sisters come a heap of brother-in-laws so he just about survives when we all get together 😉 You know I share your love of singing but am nowhere even close to your league in ability – as for am-dram, not even a smidgen of talent. How wonderful that your own cover art was used for your first book, I didn’t know that.

    Thanks again, Phyllis, and well done with your own fascinating response.

  4. Jane Risdon says:

    So happy to find this here Phyllis. I have enjoyed reading all about you so much. I worked for the MOD in Germany before the FCO in London and other departments, ministries, so we are both ex Civil-servants. You stuck to the straight and narrow and I went into Music. But we have so much in common and I am so glad to have met you in cyber-space and to have you as my friend. I wish you great success with all your books, and everything else too.

Leave a Reply

